Commonwealth Candidates for ITU Plenipotentiary 2018

The ITU Plenipotentiary Conference consists of the representatives of the Member States of the Union.

The Plenipotentiary Conference is the highest policy-making body of the ITU. Held every four years, it is the key event at which ITU Member States decide on the future role of the organization, thereby determining the organization’s ability to influence and affect the development of information and communication technologies (ICTs) worldwide. The Conference:

  • sets the Union’s general policies;
  • adopts four-year strategic and financial plans; and
  • elects the senior management team of the organization, the Member States of the Council, and the members of the Radio Regulations Board.

In 2018, the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference will meet for the 20th time in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, from Monday, 29 October to Friday, 16 November 2018. It will be preceded by the last meeting of the 2018 session of the Council on Saturday, 27 October 2018.

Mr Malcolm Johnson

Postion: Deputy Secretary-General
Country: United Kingdom

CTO Member State Candidature officially announced to CTO

William Ijeh

Postion: Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT)
Country: Nigeria

CTO member Country

Dr Cosmas Zavazava

Postion: Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT)
Country: Zimbabwe

Candidature Officially announced by South Africa on behalf of SADC during the Ministerial Forum

Simon Bugaba

Postion:Radio Regulations Board (RRB)

Country: Uganda

CTO member Country and Candidature officially announced to CTO

Ms Chantal Beaumier

Postion:Radio Regulations Board (RRB)

Country: Canada

Not a CTO member Country

Samuel Mandla Mchunu

Postion:Radio Regulations Board (RRB)

Country: South Africa

CTO Member Country and Candidature announced during Ministerial Forum





ITU Council Seat for Member States

Region A: Americas Bahamas CTO Member Country

Candidature not officially announced to CTO

Canada Not a CTO Member Country




Region D: Africa

Cameroon CTO Member Country
Ghana CTO Member Country
Kenya CTO Member Country
Nigeria CTO Member Country
Rwanda CTO Member Country
South Africa CTO Member Country
Tanzania CTO Member Country
Uganda CTO Member Country

Region E: Asia and Australia

Australia Not CTO Member Country
India CTO Member Country
Pakistan CTO member Country